House of Trixie Blue

Enterprise of Burlesque Entertainment

3 Minutes Interview with Morning Star/Ivvonna Bee

Hey everyone,

Happy Wednesday to you all. We hope you are set up for a fantastic day. We have such a treat in store for you today, something you can really use your tea break to get stuck into. Presenting, an interview with the infamous gorlesque and neo-burlesque superstar Morning Star aka Ivvonna Bee (find out who Ivvonna is below).

In her own words this ‘Vivaciously twisted vaudevillian who sits on the right side of wrong’,  has just placed 1st Runner up (2nd) in the World Alternative Crown at the World Burlesque Games. 

Ladies and Gents, hold onto your hats and enjoy the ride…

12316217_10153741036228374_7965418433060676480_n

*MORNING STAR*
*IVVONNA BEE*

 

HOTB – How did you get into burlesque?

MS – Eva Braun a Leeds based performer who was crazy about gorelesque gave me my first break on the stage. I initially didn’t do striptease as i had a passion for horror, corny magic and escapology. I didn’t feel that I had to take my clothes off to be a burlesque performer and as i progressed i did do a bit but my focus ha always been theatrical and variety. in researching the history of vaudeville and burlesque more I tend to create non nude striptease that have illusion or faux nudity I love creating in this way as it gives me more control and freedom within my professional career.

 

HOTB – Who is your inspiration?

MS – I have many people who inspire me within burlesque Tempest Storm and Anna Fur Laxis has been a major influence alongside World Famous Bob, Dirty Martini, Jo Weldon and pretty much everyone in the New York Neo-burlesque movement. following them has helped me to appreciate my skills and also feel ok to be me and create and believe in myself.

Within my vaudeville side Joe Black, Arran Shurvington, Des O’Connor, Ben Louche to name a few give me a sense of characterization and belonging in a very different way to burlesque. I am constantly taking inspiration and motivation from my peers, friends, books and my environment i find it all helps me develop who I am as a performer.

 

HOTB – What is your favourite music to perform to?

MS – Anything I get creative inspiration from many different areas so I never really sit still so to speak or fit into one type of area. I feel I need to listen to more modern (lol) music as i’m out of touch living in the past as there could be music i’m not getting access to and thus restricting my future options when it comes to creating new acts.  

On a personal level i’m deeply influenced by prog, rock, and artists like Tom Waits, Lou Reed and Patti Smith but they very rarely take place on the stage.

 

HOTB – Do you have a favourite act? and why? (your own act and others)

MS – Bleeding heck, what a question, my own acts depend on my mood and how I feel at the time i’m performing. I have a love hate relationship with my character Ivvonna and her influence on my life has been incredible and painful on so many levels. I love her depth, character and individuality as I feel I have really invested in something I am proud of but it has been so hard creating her that at times I’ve just wanted to burn her out of my soul.

Other acts there are so many that I treasure for som amny different reasons and little snippets of routines I fall in love with completely. I constantley watch and review acts online and act shows, feeling the atmosphere and the stage presence all touch my soul. I cant pick one over them all, I really can’t. But one of the most perfect performance pieces I have ever had the pleasure of seeing was Anna Fur Laxis at miss exotic world https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NOJxrZ9JXPc 

 

HOTB – What is your favourite costume piece?  

MS – Ivvonna’s mask  it is part of her everything that makes her what she is, as soon as I’m wearing the mask I am her, the smell, feeling all help me to take on her role.

 

HOTB – Tomato Sauce or Brown Sauce?

MS – Brown on a veggie sausage sarnie or on a stew, but gotta be tomato on chips.

 

HOTB – If you had a movie made about your life, who would play you? 

MS – That’s a question, you saucy minx (HOTB hahaha we are saucy), I would say Joe Black as he does a good rendition of me on cola and hes just so beautiful.

 

HOTB – Is there any advice you would give to fledging performers?

MS – Be your self, have fun and enjoy the ride xxx

A huge thank you to Morning Star for taking the time to complete our interview. A pleasure to have you. Thank you all for reading. If you have time, check out Morning Stars next infamous show, The Tea Time Tassel off – check it out on Facebook today.

Love & Shimmies

House of Trixie Blue

xxx

Tassel off 87th.jpg

Leave a Reply

