House of Trixie Blue

Enterprise of Burlesque Entertainment

B for Me – Balancing Act – A Life of Hats by Ruby Rox

Hey everyone,

It is Whisker Wednesday again and our gorgeous Ruby Rox is taking over the blog. Today Ruby shares her favourite B’s.  Come take a peek…

_DSC0347

Balancing act –A life of hats
“Oh I do like to be beside the seaside”

In what feels like a previous life, I was an entertainer/ entertainments manager and worked overseas for a few years for tour operators. The skills I learnt were invaluable and the stories I can tell are varied and hold many special memories. During this life as much as now I had to learn how to balance; vibrant personalities of team members, customer needs and keep the programme fun and relevant.

8

Days off, like now, were rare and it was important to find an easy way to relax and unwind without high cost or too much travel.
This leads us to my second B that I still do just for me! Many of my best memories from this time away from Newcastle and beyond are spent on a coastline. Free fun: the perfect antidote to my life of hats.

2
My top Beaches
Cala n Porter (Menorca)
Lourdate (Kefalonia)
Fistral Bay (Newquay)
Long sands (Tynemouth)
St Anne’s (Lytham, Blackpool)
Puerto Plata (Dominican Republic)
Costa Teguise (Lanzarote)
Scarborough
Kefalonia Tynemouth
Scarborough

6
It doesn’t have to be white sands and warm sea, in fact some of my favourite times at the beach are wrapped up warm, wearing wellies and leaving with a cold nose. No matter how stressed or how busy I am, taking time out and just being in the sea air with the sounds of
waves and the sinking sand is enough to blow away my worries and leave me refreshed and raring to go.


A recent trip to Blackpool south shore beach did just that after a glittering night partaking in my first B just for me-Burlesque.
The Sapphire Whiskers took a road trip this weekend enjoyed all the fun of Blackpool. The
tower ballroom hosted the fantastic Burlesque Noir which was a stunning sight just looking around the audience never mind the artists onstage! My highlight was not only getting to spend time with the other Whiskers but the beautiful and very talented
“Medianoche” who had me mesmerised from the second she stepped out from
behind the plush velvet curtains and beyond.

7

We also managed to squeeze in a few hours dancing and taking in the local
nightlife. After a breakfast of sugary rock and a leisurely stroll along the seafront we
were Newcastle bound again and I for one was ready to take the week by storm!

Ruby Rox

Thank you for reading. Head on over to The Sapphire Whiskers Facebook page to see a little more of Ruby, the rest of the Whiskers and join in the banter. 

1 Comment

    Trackbacks

    1. B for Me – Balancing Act – A Life of Hats part 2 by Ruby Rox | House of Trixie Blue

    Leave a Reply

