House of Trixie Blue

Enterprise of Burlesque Entertainment

3 Minutes with Cece Sinclair

Hey everyone,

Are you ready for our interview with one of the burlesque scenes hottest stars. Gracing the stages of festivals, competitions and exclusive shows around the globe (not to mention she is popping along to our next big show, The Periwinkle Pussycat), it is the fierce and mesmerizing Cece Sinclair. 

 

Cece Sinclair

*CECE SINCLAIR*

HOTB– How did you get into burlesque?
CS – I’ve always loved the idea of burlesque but I actually got into burlesque due to my depression! My counsellor told me a need to improve my self-esteem and that doing a class in something might help it improve. I tried lots of things, pole aerial hoop but I fell in love with burlesque.

 
HOTB – Who is your inspiration?
CS – Everyone and everything! Lady wildflower is my teacher so she is my motivator and I always go to her when I’m unsure. But I find inspiration everywhere and from so so many performers!!! When you see another performer love and drive it can’t help but inspire you! Like Velma Bon Bon!! She really pushes herself and that always inspires me to do the same.

 
HOTB – What is your favourite music to perform to?
CS – My favourite music to perform to is probably anything with a clever arrangement. A lot of my acts are high energy and that isn’t necessarily why I picked the music. I like music that has various layers, different sounds to connect movement too and changes within the song. I like to listen to my music and sort of let my music tell me what movement to do. Ahhahaha that sounds so artsy hahah I also like my choreography to be natural so I tend to wait until I hear a song to which my ideas naturally flow.

 
HOTB – Do you have a favourite act? and why? (your own act and others)
CS -hmmmmm in terms of other performers I’m not sure I have an ultimate favourite. Each performer brings something different! Oh I do live watching Anna Fur Laxis’s quick change!!!!! I just love her face and movements!! Oh oh and Banbury cross’s cowboy! See I could go on forever as there are so so many!!! My favourite of my own acts… I can’t pick! They are my babies! But I do know I’m proudest of my acts from my tribal onwards as it was from there onwards that I truly committed to pushing myself with each new act. Making sure that each new act pushed me as a performer. Each new act brought me into the studio more, made me have to stretch more or learn a new skill. 

 
HOTB –  What is your favourite costume piece?
CS – aaaaa my emerald green sequin dress from my jive routine!!! I just live how it gets removed!! The removal came to me in a dream seriously hahaha. Also I made all the beaded fringe myself and it took so much time and patience. But I love challenging myself like that as there is no greater feeling than ending something tired and stressed battered and bruised and being able to say ” I did that!!!”

 
HOTB -Tomato Sauce or Brown Sauce?
CS – Tomato!!!!! …. I do like brown though…what is brown sauce even made of?

 
HOTB – If you had a movie made about your life, who would play you?
CS – Damn that’s hard!!! I’d have Rusty von Chrome play me. Or Will Ferrell. 

 
HOTB – Is there any advice you would give to fledgling performers?
CS – Go hard from the beginning. Of course we all get better over time but don’t rely on that. Don’t rely on experience and time to make you more confident or more skilled. Speed up that process. Get in the studio and rehearse! Rehearsing not only improves your skills but your confidence as confidence comes from trusting yourself! Trusting that you are prepared and know what you are doing. Research performers, costumes! Get the best on stage by putting your all into the creation process

 

Check out Cece on Facebook 

Thank you for your time Cece, pleasure to interview you.  Thank you all for reading and don’t forget you can see Cece live on stage this September 2016 at The Periwinkle Pussycat  – check out www.houseoftrixieblue.co.uk for more exciting information here.

Love & Shimmies

House of Trixie Blue

xxx

 

Leave a Reply

