House of Trixie Blue

Enterprise of Burlesque Entertainment

3 Minutes with…Ebony Silk

Hey everyone

It’s that time again folks! The time in which we interview the UK’s top burlesque performers/producers to find out what really makes them tick and how ‘saucy’ they really are. This month we are interviewing the North East’s very own stunner Ebony Silk…

12910800_961762220586609_625291346_n

*EBONY SILK*

HOTB – How did you get into burlesque?
ES –  I used to work with Betty Rose Royal and Beau Rocks, at the time I discovered Dita. They were both already performing and were in the process of setting up an events company so took me under their wing.

 

HOTB – Who is your inspiration?
ES – My original inspiration was Dita, but as I researched I fell in love with the life of Josephine Baker because of her success in such an oppressive environment in her time. Someone who inspires me as a modern day performer is Velma Von BonBon, she has such talent, drive and passion, and is so modest with it.

 

HOTB – What is your favourite music to perform to?
ES Music wise I love the good upbeat old tunes from the 40s and 50s. I also like to throw in a bit of calypso or r’n’b.

 

HOTB – Do you have a favourite act? (own & others)
ES My favourite act to perform is my Caribbean Princess. It takes me back to my cultural roots and childhood and I like to think it leaves everyone dancing in their seats.
Another performers act that I absolutely love is CeCe Sinclairs, the one in the green dress. If Tina Turna did burlesque….it’s so upbeat and energetic!!

 

HOTB – What is your favourite costume piece?
EB My favourite costume piece is my Jamaican flag, it makes up my bra in my Caribbean Princess routine so it’s a nice surprise at the end.

 

HOTB – Tomato Sauce or Brown Sauce?
EB – Brown sauce

 

HOTB – If you had a movie made about your life, who would play you?
EB – ooh that’s a tough one!! I actually have no idea, maybe Rita Ora lol

 

HOTB – Is there any advice you would give to fledging performers?
EB – The serious part 🙂 I’d say first and foremost, always respect those that have walked the path before you and appreciate everyone. Don’t feel bad if a performance style is not to your taste, just appreciate the skill that each performance involves. It took me a lot of years to realise that you don’t have to like what everyone does, the important thing is to respect it
Check Ebony out on Social Media
FB page – /theebonysilk

Instagram – theebonysilk
Twitter – theebonysilk

We would like to thank Ebony for taking part in our 3 Minutes interview. Pleasure was all ours. Let us know your thoughts on our Facebook page. Thanks for reading and don’t forget to shimmy.

Love & Shimmies

House of Trixie Blue

xxx

 

Leave a Reply

