House of Trixie Blue

Enterprise of Burlesque Entertainment

3 Minutes with… Bella Besame

Hey you guys,

We hope you are having a wonderful day *insert happy shimmy in here*.  We are super excited to bring you our next exclusive 3 Minutes with interview (what is 3 mins with?).

Today we are interviewing the super fabulous burlesque legend, Bella Besame, performer, teacher and producer of The Slippery Belle. So sit back, grab a cuppa and enjoy the tips, tricks and banter from Bella…

bella

*BELLA BESAME*

HOTB How did you get into burlesque?

BB – I had always had an interest in burlesque but it took off when I was at university and working in a bar. There was a private party booking who were looking for a ‘shock performance’, the idea being to get people talking at the beginning of the night. I was tasked with finding someone as they knew I had a theatre and dance background. It turned out to be a tougher task than I thought and nobody wanted to perform for such a low fee, so I proposed that, if the couple hosting the party were happy with it, I’d love to do a burlesque act! They thought it was a great idea, I was petrified when they actually agreed! After that first performance I was totally hooked and, 16 years later I’m still at it!

HOTB – Who is your inspiration?

BB – Maya Angelou, Marilyn Monroe, Dolly Parton, Joan Rivers, Marlene Dietrich, Mae West, Lucille Ball, Oprah, Coco Chanel, my gran and every woman who is kicking ass is their every day life!

HOTB – What is your favourite song to dance to?

BB – Gosh this is tough, there are so many! I will have to say David Rose ‘The Stripper’ because I’ve heard it thousands of times but still absolutely adore it. I know it’s massively overdone but it’s my guilty pleasure 😉

HOTB – Do you have a favourite act? and why?

BB – Another tough one, blimey Trixie! For super sexy old school glamour, it has to be Heidi Bitz – that girl can *really* move, is exceptionally graceful, memorising to watch and her costumes are to die for. Also I’m loving Verity Grey’s Tango act – fun, flirty and she dances so hard that I’m exhausted by the end just watching her!

HOTB – What is it you LOVE about producing?

BB – I absolutely adore watching people enjoy themselves – seeing audience members cheering, smiling, laughing and having a blast plus performers having an awesome time too, both on and off stage. I get a massive pride glow when someone comes up to me afterwards or emails me and says that they loved what I’ve done, it makes me so very happy.

HOTB – What is your favourite costume piece?

BB – It would have to be my Martini balloon pop corset. It’s pink, sparkly and usually has at least 20 massive balloons attached to it! Although saying that, I have just ordered some new underwear for this particular act which I have a sneaky feeling will overtake that when it arrives…..

HOTB – If you had a movie made about your life, who would play you?

BB – I’d love to say Jennifer Lawrence because she’s curvy, sarcastic and loves a good party!

HOTB – Is there any advice you would give to fledging performers/producers?

BB – I’d say to performers starting out to get clear, unedited footage of your performances – preferably at a show if you can. Also read casting calls clearly and respond appropriately. As soon as someone messages me about a show and calls me ‘Belle’ or doesn’t include what I asked for originally, I don’t even consider them. It may sound harsh but it’s still a job at the end of the day and you need to approach people professionally.

To people wanting to produce shows, the two main rules are don’t step on other producer’s toes and treat your performers well. Finally make sure you’re doing it for the right reasons, it isn’t glamorous and it isn’t that well paid! If you like pressure, stress, are able to think on your feet and can smile through people who have never been to a burlesque show before telling you ‘this isn’t burlesque’, it may well just be for you!

 

To keep up to date on Bella’s shenanigans, check out:

Bella Besame Official Fan Page – https://www.facebook.com/BellaBesame 

The Slippery Belle Burlesque Show – https://www.facebook.com/theslipperybelle/ 

Official Website – www.bellabesame.co.uk

 

Bella is bringing the legendary Dirty Martini to The Slippery Belle. Check out the Facebook event below – Not to be missed:

12647271_10204788773073670_2204827915039789350_n

 

Thank you so much for your time Bella, always a pleasure.  We hope you all enjoyed reading today’s interview and we would love to hear your feedback. Head on over to our Facebook page and tell us more.  Thanks  everyone and don’t forget to shimmy. 

Love & Shimmies

House of Trixie Blue
xxx

Leave a Reply

