House of Trixie Blue

Enterprise of Burlesque Entertainment

3 Minutes with… Carman Havalook

Hello you lovely lot,

AH It is the first Wednesday of DECEMBER! We are super excited, especially as we are on the second day of our advent calenders. Today we bring you an interview with the North East entertainer (she performs burlesque, hula hoop, singer, opera, cabaret…the list is endless), Carman Havalook…

*Carman Havalook*

carman

HOTB – How did you get into burlesque?

CH – I finished my degree in musical theatre and I was utterly disillusioned with the performance industry…. like a lot of people I finished uni with a degree I didn’t know how to use and a subject that I had studied to death. I ended up at home with my parents staring at Facebook all day. Until I found a job on gumtree looking for a burlesque performer to join a Newcastle troupe. So having never been further north than Birmingham and having never done burlesque in my life I went and auditioned… and apparently got the job. I moved from Dorset to Newcastle 2 weeks later and have since spent that past 4 years pretending that I know what I am doing.

HOTB – Who is your inspiration?

CH – When I first looked in to burlesque I really liked the weird performers like Mad Kate and Bambi the Mermaid. But that was never something I felt comfortable doing myself, instead I found my love for old school comedy really influenced me as a performer. Things like carry on movies or the air plane movies as well as performers like Danny la Rue and Tommy Cooper. I never want to become bored of fart humour or a pie to the face.

HOTB – What is your favourite song to dance too?

CH – This depends on what I am doing! When I actually dance…. with a hula hoop…. I do love metal! King Diamond and Devin Townsend to name a couple. For burlesque the music is a means to an end, it’s not about the song, it’s about the story with all my comedy routines, the track is just another story telling tool.

HOTB – Do you have a favourite act? and why?

CH – I suppose it would be ‘All by Myself’. That routine really solidified my reputation as a comic performer and has never lost its popularity… despite the fact it’s pretty gross. It great to be on stage making people laugh and gag at the same time! I love making people uncomfortable by being outlandishly gross; but also because it shows a situation nearly all of us have been in at one point of another….

HOTB – What is your favourite costume piece?

CH – I don’t get to enjoy the luxuries of lovely costumes with all the feathers and sparkle of most burly performers…. so I suppose it would be my rip away Chewbacca outfit. I hate wearing it on a personal level, it is so uncomfortable and hot and itchy- BUT- it pays off because it really cracks people up. That and it was also a pet project of my friend Rosie Bristow- of Bristow and Sisters- unusual outfitters- and myself. She worked her arse off sewing on all the many many poppers that holds that thing together!

HOTB – If you had a movie made about your life, who would play you?

CH – Me! if im famous enough to have a movie made about me… then I would play me! Like Eminem in 8 miles… throw down some sick beats in a movie where I largely sit on my bed sharing sandwiches with my cat (we like egg mayo). Also my cat would be played by my cat.

HOTB – Is there any advice you would give to fledging performers?

CH – Dont copy! It really pisses people off! You may think it’s flattering, but it’s not. Find your own voice. You can love someone and their style, but it’s their style, not yours. You’ll end up under cutting someone you respect if you’re not careful and considerate. Also be different and dare and push and bother people and learn to do circus tricks and music and freak show talents and make the audience think! Don’t fit in to a box- in a very saturated industry it’s easy to become background noise. It isn’t easy- but very few things that are worth doing don’t tend to be easy

Thank you so much for your insight Carman. We hope you all have enjoyed reading. Catch Carman at the final House of Trixie Blue show of the year SANTA WEARS STOCKINGS.

11/12/2015 7pm – World headquarters

Tickets are £6+bf from www.houseoftrixieblue.co.uk (check out here for more info too)

or £8 on the door (limited)

Have a shimmytastic day

Love & shimmies

House of Trixie Blue

xxx

Leave a Reply

