House of Trixie Blue

Enterprise of Burlesque Entertainment

3 Minutes with… Tooshie La Tata

Good day everyone,

How are you all? extra super smashing we hope. So today is the best day of the week! it is WEDNESDAY!!! HOORAY! This means we are spending the evening with our Burlesque Choreography/The Blue Belles students and d’ya know what? we CANNOT WAIT!!! Anyhoo, before we go shimmying off into the night, we are bringing you our 3 Minutes feature (what is 3mins?) and interviewing the hilarious Tooshie La Tata…

*Tooshie La Tata*

1000022_1396017780649775_1345114301_n

HOTB – How did you get into burlesque?

TLT  – By accident! I went to a charity event being organised by a friend and it happened to be a Burlesque show. It was a revelation, there was such creativity and amazing ideas…I got talking to a performer in the loo and she told me about workshops…the rest as they say is history!
HOTB – Who is your inspiration?

TLT – Well as I fell into this I’m really not familiar with all the old names in burlesque. The first one is the performer in the loos at my first show, who was a larger lady, and told me to get on a workshop and go for it (Lady Toots I think). As I love character and comedy, Velma Von Bonbon and Heidi Bang Tidy have me in stitches. For originality and characterisation I adore Kitty Noir. As I started in a troupe there is my teacher Tobi James, but then I can’t leave it there when you have the amazing Rusty Von Chrome, Raven Noir, Lada Redstar etc etc….
HOTB – What is your favourite song to dance too?

TLT – Seriously anything… Probably something upbeat though.
HOTB – Do you have a favourite act? and why?

TLT – Hettie Remembers, she is such a character, she possesses me on stage and I don’t get a look in! She is me in 40 years and she’s a proper handful!
HOTB – What is your favourite costume piece?

TLT – Well it’s not a costume piece as such but Hettie’s wheelchair, my husband has totally tricked it out and it’s ace.
HOTB – If you had a movie made about your life, who would play you?

TLT – Angelina Jolie…I wish, she’s stunning, those cheek bones! Lol she would need to eat some serious kebabs to get a body like mine though. I really can’t imagine it if I’m honest!
HOTB – Is there any advice you would give to fledging performers? 

TLT – Go to shows, all of them! Ones in theatres, posh venues, working men’s clubs and biker pubs. Ones with stages and changing rooms and ones where the performers emerge from the toilet! Absorb, mingle, help, smile. There is never enough networking, if you can’t afford to go as a punter join all the face book groups and offer yourself as a maid. 

Lastly NEVER slut shame anyone else, the point of burlesque is that it’s a club anyone can joint…so just be nice!

Thank you very much for your insight Tooshie. We hope you enjoyed today’s instalment of 3 Minutes. 

Have a wonderful day

Love & Shimmies

House of Trixie Blue

xxx

Leave a Reply

